2-4. Exporting and reloading config¶
IMPORTANT
There is no save button in the Configuration Builder, because the config is only held in memory in your web browser. However, the config can be exported so you can save it locally on your machine.
-
Export your config using either route:
- The Export button at the top right of the builder, or
- Home → Export → Quick Export

A file called
config_YYYYMMDD_HHMM.jsonwill download to your machine, into whichever folder is set as your default Downloads location. -
Select New Config. Your current config will be replaced with an empty configuration.
-
Select Load Config and pick the
config_XX.jsonyou just downloaded. Your previous configuration is restored. -
OPTIONAL: You can also set a custom name for your config files, which is really useful if you are working on several different configs. Go to Settings and change the Export filename prefix from config to a name of your choice.
Export frequently
As you continue through this tutorial series, export your config after every couple of steps. Config files are exported with a unique date and time suffix, so your Downloads folder will build up — but the files are small, and the datestamps allow you to backtrack to previous versions if you need to.
See Loading and saving and Export options for the full options, including sorting exported JSON to match the UI order.